Peace Out Man


I met my colleague back in March 2010, when we were both just arriving at Foreign Service Officer School (i.e. Foreign Service Institute‘s A-100 Class).

Not many weeks later we both learned that we would be headed to the same posting in Manama, Bahrain, except that he was scheduled to head there many months before I would arrive.  It was not his top choice.  Regardless, he trailblazed a path for me to follow and set up shop in my future office.  Actually, I should say, our office.  We have shared probably one of the nicest offices available in the Embassy, the only one I know that has two couches in it, with a great view of Tubli Bay (easily the smelliest spot in Bahrain).  Well this post is a homage to my friend who will depart on Thursday to head back to the greener grass for training.  Here a few things I’ll miss (roast):

  • His uncanny ability to not hear anything I’m saying, even though we are no more than five feet apart.
  • The way he walks in late and expects for coffee to be made… perfectly.
  • His knack for scrounging up milk for the coffee from the Front Office when we run out.
  • The times that I think he is talking to me, but actually he’s on the phone with his wife.
  • His answers to every administrative question, which I am too lazy to figure out myself.  aka My Personal Human Resources Officer (MHRO)
  • The reminder I get each Wednesday about taco day, the only decent lunch food in our cafeteria.
  • His near-equal love of maps and our ability to scavenge every great map in the Embassy for our office.
  • Self-releasing… cables (you have a very dirty mind).
  • Closed-door meetings.
  • Running to the window to see the near fatal car accident on the highway below.
  • When I’m on vacation and he ghost-writes in my cat’s voice with the opening phrase, “I miss you daddy.”
  • The way he says he is leaving the office “right at five!” and leaves shortly after six.
  • His laugh (giggle).
  • His ability to wear the Bahraini-American friendship pin at every occasion, major or minor.
  • When he says, “I’m always the last to know anything in this office.”
  • Every time he accidentally turns off his computer with his foot in the middle of writing something due two hours earlier.
  • No longer having to do sitreps with him on the breakdown of law & order in Bahrain.
  • Someone to take over the labor part of my portfolio, because they are capable of doing both their portfolio and part of mine.
  • His love of swanky suit liners.
  • His love for all things Bahrain (not).
  • Our nights of domination on MW3.
  • The way he could tell you about nearly every restaurant on the island, but not many holes-in-the-wall.
  • His fascination with balloon hats and brunches.
  • His overuse of British slang.
  • BBQs at his place.
  • His unflinching dedication to following rules and regs.
  • His strict avoidance of red zones and excellent knowledge of protest activity.
  • The flagrant use of the word asshat to describe me, but only when I am being an asshat.
  • and finally, for being a great friend and colleague!

See you in DC old buddy.  Tell America hello and I miss her for me.

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Peace Out Man

  1. Mr. Crab says:

    Asshat, I’m not sure whether to laugh (giggle) or cry. Thank you. I will miss you, classmate, colleague and friend.

  2. Christen Kadkhodai says:

    We will all miss you, Cesar. Godspeed and safe travels! Excited to see you back at FSI in a few months.

  3. Tiberius says:

    What no kiss?

  4. […] first time my colleague and fellow blogger has been featured on this blog.  Perhaps you remember Peace Out Man, where I semi-roasted my brother-in-bureaucracy.  Here’s my take (with minor variations to […]

  5. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog
    and I am impressed! Very helpful info specifically the last part :
    ) I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

Comments appreciated

